Sundays at Grammy’s

20131103-151611.jpg
Joan Bay or “Grammy,” left, catches up with Cassa Niedringhaus on Sunday, Nov. 3. Niedringhaus said she loves spending her Sundays at Grammy’s.

Columbia, Mo. — For most college students, Sundays in the fall are recovery days. On Sunday, you recover from long days of college football, long nights of partying or spending time with friends, and not doing any homework that’s due on Monday. While most students get this done in their dorm rooms, I get to spend my Sundays at somewhere much better.

Almost every Sunday, I go to the home of Don and Joan Bay, the grandparents of my freshman roommate Jacob Steimer. The Bays, known better as Grammy and Papa to Jacob and his friends, live 15 minutes away from campus and are always happy to open their home to college students looking to recharge.

“Grammy’s house always makes me sleepy and full,” said sophomore Cassa Niedringhaus. On this day, Niedringhaus joined sophomore Mark Collins, Jacob and myself at Grammy’s house watching football and enjoying Grammy’s famous cooking (homemade dip and cookies today).

Going to Grammy’s is always one of the highlights of my weeks in the fall and I can’t imagine my college weekends without it anymore.

20131103-151802.jpg
Mark Collins (right), Jacob Steimer (left) and Niedringhaus (floor) relax and watch football in the Bay’s basement on Sunday, Nov. 3. The basement plays host to football watching, eating, doing homework and sleeping most fall Sundays.

Leave a comment